Honoring the Chickadee

This weekend I was in Chicago working with two of my teachers, Thomas and Sherry White. We were doing sensitive and transformative work around integrity. This process can be very deep since it deals with reflecting on parts of our lives where we may be out of integrity. I find this work challenging because it illuminates things I tend to deny, ususally because I am not proud of them. The process culminates with acknowledging where I am out of integrity and accepting that this, too, is part of me.

While we were working, a chickadee appeared at a birdfeeder which hung outside the room just above my head. In some Native American traditions the Chickadee represents the cheerful seeker of truth.

So, in honor of the chickadee’s spirit of cheer, I offer Tom Woodward’s humorous staff development video. Tom has a wonderful sense of humor and, as the Technology Ninja, offers a solution to the reluctance of some teachers to adopt technology in their classrooms.

Technology Ninja’s Solution

Caves! Without T.V’s! Why didn’t I think of that?

Thank you, Tom, for reminding me, that along with the power of the eagles and hawks that lead educational technology forward, we need the the wisdom and cheerfulness of the Chickadee.

Pete

 

3 thoughts on “Honoring the Chickadee

  1. Pingback: EdBloggerNews
  2. Pete,

    I’ve been called a lot of things before but never a “cheerful chickadee” but after reading the linked page I consider it very high praise indeed.

    I appreciate your kind words and I am very glad that what I’m putting out there has some value to you. As a grown man you can’t really be sure what reaction you’ll get when you wrap a t-shirt around your head and start talking about staff development. Luckily, it seems to have gone pretty well.

    I’m also happy to have another interesting and insightful blog to follow- although I’m really going to have to learn how to speed read if this keeps up.

Leave a Reply

