How Do You Develop Your Own Leadership Traits?

I’ll keep this post simple and I look forward to your responses.

If the foundation of effective leadership is…

1) being honest with ourselves and others
2) acting with integrity
3) having courage
4) being accountable
5) holding a vision
6) articulating a vision with clarity
7) being trustworthy
8} trusting others
9 having a deep sense of caring
10) and inspiring others to their own greatness

(Obviously, this is the short list, there are many more key elements.)

…and you want to strengthen or develop one or more of these qualities in yourself; how do you, as a leader, do that?

Note: Thanks to Angie and her courageous commenting on my post “Another Way”.

pete

10 thoughts on “How Do You Develop Your Own Leadership Traits?

  1. How? Well…

    1) being honest with ourselves and others
    – stop lying

    2) acting with integrity
    – stop lying

    3) having courage
    – stop lying

    4) being accountable
    – stop lying

    5) holding a vision
    Do you mean ‘having a vision’? or ‘holding to a vision’?

    6) articulating a vision with clarity
    – stop lying

    7) being trustworthy
    – stop lying

    8} trusting others
    – stop lying

    9 having a deep sense of caring
    – Do you mean ‘care’ or do you mean ‘be aware (ie., sense) when you are caring’?

    10) and inspiring others to their own greatness
    – stop lying

    I think that tells us something about the nature of being a leader, doesn’t it?

  2. I’d be interested to know as well.

    What I glean from Stephen’s response is that leaders are inherently lyers. And that the only obstacle to leadership is the lying that leaders do because they are leaders…
    …I hope I am misunderstanding.

    Yes, there is a sense of transparency that I feel needs to be there in order to develop my leadership traits. But making things transparent does not mean that what has come before is a result of lying.

    When I do not feel comfortable as a leader it is usually time for me to do some work to help make things more transparent for me, which in turn (I hope) will help to make things more transparent for others.

    I think that seeking to understand is especially important for all aspects of leadership. Understanding my own motives and assumptions about all of the areas you mentioned above, Pete, is important for me.

    How do I do this? By engaging in conversation with others. By reading as much as I can. By writing.

    Thanks for another thought-provoking post.
    Tracy

  3. Transparency…
    Being clear about motives and assumptions that surround decisions and actions.
    An openness in communication that allows for more understanding.
    Making sure that my decisions are ‘see-through’ – “I am acting this way because…”

  4. It also has to do with my not assuming that others know why I am acting in a certain way. I think the notion of see-throughedness as applied to decision-making helps to make it a bit clearer. (Does it? 🙂 )

  5. Tracy
    I’m not sure; but I think I understand. I guess I have always engaged this as a personal learning process and never thought to communicate or justify my pursuit of leadership effectiveness to anyone else.

    When you describe transparency it sounds somewhat like self-honesty; is that what you mean?

    pete

  6. A combination of self-honesty and openness to others. There is definitely a meta-cognitive element of me being aware of my motivations and actions as I am doing them.

    It is not about justifying why I do things, but about being open and communicating with those around me as I act.

    As a leader, that might look like open meetings and not making decisions for others but with others.

    Transparency is not always as simple as it seems. Do you know the JoHari window? It is an idea that demonstrates knowledge of myself as divided into 4 quadrants: what I and others know about me, what others know about me but I am not aware of, what is known to me but hidden from others, and what is unknown to me and others (like an ability or even an illness I don’t yet know I have).

    Developing transparency in myself is closely tied to ‘filling in’ the JoHari window – and this can pretty much only be done by being open and accepting of feedback from others – so definitely self-honesty, openness, communication, trust are all important elements.
    tracy

  7. tracy is right on that point.i complently agree with her because when people around you can find that you are not transparent in your decision,some can start desestimate your leadership.
    as for me i would like to know more about decion making.when as a leader you decide for a certain thing that you want ..what is one supposed to be based on ?

  8. joseph,
    Is your question, “How do I decide?” “What should my decisions be based on?” or

    Is it something like “After I make a decision, how do I take effective action?

    Let me know, so I can respond properly.

    Thanks,
    pete

Leave a Reply

