Gifts

Cross posted at Touchstones:

Today I received one of the greatest gifts of my life. My daughter, Colleen, who is 20 years old and a student at Rutgers University, has discovered one of her gifts and let her voice come forth. She has never had a voice lesson and she has never really shared her singing with us. Her older sister, Kate, sent me a link to music which she was quietly publishing on the Internet

left: Collleen right: Kate

How grateful I am to see my child manifest a gift that is hers, uniquely.

My father is undergoing heart surgery today and this is a link to a song that Colleen dedicates to him.

Angel

Here is more of Colleen’s music.

Each of us has a gift or gifts which live deeply within us. More often then not, we don’t honor them. One of my gifts is that of words, and most of my life I ignored it. I didn’t think it was a way to make a living. I didn’t think I was good enough. I minimized its importance.

Whether you can earn a living with your gift, or where you stack up against others doesn’t really matter, does it?

A gift is our deepest self manifesting itself in the world. When we use our gifts we are truly alive and present. It is joyous to do so. It is joyous to witness others.

Let us celebrate the beauty that lives in each of us.

in gratefulness, abundance, and peace,

pete

5 thoughts on “Gifts

  1. Hi Pete,

    I needed this post. Thank you. I’ve really been noticing what seems like such a competitive atmosphere in the Web2.0 world that it was really getting to me. Sharing our gifts (and ignoring our Technorati rating) is what it’s all about. Always nice to have a reminder.

    You should also celebrate that your daughters got their mother’s good looks it appears.

    Have a great weekend,

    Doug

  2. Doug,
    It’s funny that I have been feeling the same way about the blogoshpere.

    I love your sense of humor…(one of your gifts, btw) and you’re right about my wife 🙂

    pete

  3. A gift is our deepest self manifesting itself in the world. When we use our gifts we are truly alive and present. It is joyous to do so. It is joyous to witness others.

    Let us celebrate the beauty that lives in each of us.

    in gratefulness, abundance, and peace,

    …This is the comment that I was referring to.. it did not post in the previous comment I made.
    Faye

Leave a Reply

